The Corner

My last visit to The Corner

My last visit to The Corner

The old Tiger Stadium is officially coming down this week, and I couldn’t be more upset. I have so many memories of the stadium and have heard so many stories about the feats and records at The Corner. I had hoped all along that the conservancy group would be able to save it, but it couldn’t be done.
My favorite story is one that my mother loves to tell. She says, “We took Kelly to a game when she was about 4-years-old. We were sitting in the bleachers and we gave her the binoculars to look through. She starts naming the players she sees on the field, ‘Look mom, there’s Gibby and Tram and Sparky and Lou.'”
I also remember my last game there – It was 1999, I was 14-years-old and sitting behind a post in the famous “partially obstructed view” seats. I remember crying – I knew it would never be the same.
The Co-Pa (Comerica Park) ranks no where close to Tiger Stadium in my mind. It’s more of an amusement park – with a ferris wheel and merry-go-round – than a ball park.
I still love to go see our guys play America’s game, but it doesn’t compare to the corner of Michigan and Trumbell. It never will.
See Alan Trammell’s good-bye to The Corner
RIP TIGER STADIUM

Leave a Reply

