This week's list: 5 social media things

Photo editor took this picture of me for the new WDT newsroom blog we're launching next week. More details to come!

Photo editor took this picture of me for the new WDT newsroom blog we're launching next week. More details to come!

After reading 5 social media gripes that get under my skin, I decided to make my own version of the list.
Here are the top five things I like the most and least about social media.
Top five favorite
1. Interaction – I love being connected to anyone and everyone. Twitter and Facebook have allowed for endless interactions with readers, friends and family.
2. Links – I love when Twitterers (Twits?) post links to interesting stories. I have read more interesting stories from more interesting places in the past six months than I have in the last six years.
3. Twitpics – I love when pictures are posted on Twitter. I (almost) always look at them.
4. Meeting new people – I love looking through peoples friends on Facebook and followers on Twitter and finding new interesting people to talk to.
5. Immediacy – When the tanker exploded on I-75 in Detroit last week I saw it on Twitter within minutes. Even though I wasn’t there, I followed the news orgs in the area and felt really connected and up to date.

Top five least favorites
1. Hashtag overload: There’s nothing I hate more than seeing a tweet like “I went to the #Watertown #Zoo #Sunday to see the #NewOtterExhibit. It was #fun.” Was that really necessary?
2. People who actually answer the question: What are you doing? I don’t care that you’re eating oatmeal for breakfast. I do care what interesting tidbit you’re thinking or talking about. Only answer that question if you’re doing something really exotic, interesting or baffling.
3. Being connected – Sometimes I just can’t turn it off. There are days I don’t get to bed until 2 a.m. because I’m up reading everything being tweeted.
4. Keeping up – After a long weekend away it’s borderline hellish to read everything that’s been going on and get back to readers/fans/tweeps that want that interaction. This is where it’d be helpful having more than one person monitoring accounts.
5. Stole this one: Retweeting praise about yourself. We get it. Someone talked to you. You’re cool. RT’ing is a great way to get the word out on events, stories, thoughts, etc. Not a great way to tell everyone how awesome you are.

One thought on “This week's list: 5 social media things

Leave a Reply

