30 by 30 list

On New Year’s day I was featured in an article on CNN.com about New Year’s resolutions.

30 by 30 list as of Jan. 19, 2011

My resolution is to focus on myself and my goals. To be more specific, I want to knock 10 items off of my 30 by 30 list this year. This is a list of 30 things I want to do before I turn 30 (today I am 26 and a half-ish). The things on the list range from shooting a gun to recording and song to falling in love.

I’ve shared this list with a few people and each time I talk about it, everyone seems genuinely interested in the list and the process. Because of this, I thought I’d share my journey on my blog.

The list changes and updates often so I’ll post the most up-to-date version under the 30 by 30 tab at the top of the page.

I wanted this to be a personal experience, which is why there is writing and notes all over the list, which is kept in my wallet at all times. Everyone who helps me do something on my list signs the back and jots down some words of encouragement or inspiration. The items with bullet points next to them are those I hope to accomplish in 2011. The timelines noted to the right of each item were added by a friend to help me keep on track.

As you can see the #1 spot on the list is currently vacant. It had read “Travel overseas,” but since I have so many other travel goals on the list, I don’t think I’ll have the time or financial resources necessary for a trip overseas by the time I’m 30. So, I’m taking suggestions as to what else I can include on my list.

Tonight marks the first step toward accomplishing one of the items – it’s my first meeting with a voice coach. One of the items on the list is “Record a song.” This won’t be something distributed or shared with the world, but it’s something I’m doing for me. I’ve always had this love affair with music and singing, so I’m looking forward to creating my own song. I hope working with a voice coach will help me prepare for the recording and also help me network with people who have access to a studio!

And, although I haven’t done it in a couple of weeks, I’m also in the process of training to run a 5k. I’m using the Couch to 5k program, which uses a 9 week program to help the runner complete a 5k. Mine is a little slower than the 9 weeks, but I hope to run a 5k in December of this year!

I’m really excited about this journey and happy to be sharing it here with you. I’m looking forward to learning more about myself and others through this process and I can’t wait to cross so more things off my list!

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

