Next stop: Locavore!

The next stop on my 30 by 30 journey will be to become a “locavore” for the month of April.

Locavore: Those who are interested in eating food that is locally produced and not moved long distances to market. The locavore movement spawned as interest in sustainability and eco-consciousness become more prevalent. -Wikipedia

As this gets closer, I find myself getting really excited but also very nervous. I’ve done a lot of research these last few weeks about local farmer’s markets, dairy farms, the difference in free range chicken, community support agriculture, etc. It’s exhausting!

My mom helping me pick local produce at the Gilbert Farmer's Market.

I want to be a locavore for a month because sustainability and buying local are extremely important to me. As soon as I heard about this movement I knew I wanted to do it, but also knew that it would be challenging – I just didn’t know, and still don’t know, how challenging.

I started out thinking, “Sure, I can do this. I’ll eat salad and chicken and beef from local farms. No problem. It’ll get boring – but I can do it.”

Then I started thinking of the specifics:
-What am I going to eat for breakfast? Eggs everyday?
-What am I going to eat on my salad? Do they have locally produced salad dressing?
-What about drinks? Water 24/7?
-Side dishes? All produce all the time?

I found some guidelines from Locavores.com that were very helpful.
– If not Locally produced, then Organic.
– If not organic, then Family farm.
– If not family farm, then Local business.

I have also been toying with the idea of participating in the community supported agriculture group through Desert Roots Farm – For the spring season, I would pay a set amount (about $18/week) to get a half share of produce harvested that week. The advantages of this is that I’m guaranteed to get a hefty amount of locally grown produce each week but the disadvantage is that I can’t pick and choose which produce I get – so I might get something I don’t know how to prepare. Which may end up being a learning opportunity and another advantage! It also makes me feel more connected to the community and involved with this whole process. So I think it’s a go.

All-in-all I’m really excited to start this part of my journey. When I was telling a good friend that I was nervous about this, she said, “I think it’s good that your nervous. Isn’t that the whole point of this list – to step outside of your comfort zone?” Very true! So, while I think it’ll be a learning process and will be challenging at times, I’m extremely excited and confident I’ll complete this!

Oh! And I found out some great news – In my research, I found that I’ll have no problem finding dessert and beverages. Arizona produces some excellent wines and beer and a nearby dairy farm has a store about a mile from my house that sells the most delicious ice cream! SCORE!

What do you guys think? Could you ever be a locavore? For a day? Week? Month? Forever?

Stay tuned for more updates!!

Here are some articles written about locavores:
Time magazine
Time (again)
NY Times

2 thoughts on “Next stop: Locavore!

  1. Kathy says:

    This is awesome! You’re doing it well my friend. PS- I have some good salad dressing recipes if you can find local olive oil, lemons, and fresh garlic! It’s delicious 🙂

  2. Congratulations Kelly! I love this idea, both the locavore for a month and the 30 before 30 journey!

    I’m also passionate about local and organic food, I really like your ranking system of “if not local…” because depending on the season it can be really difficult to eat locally year round, but your list shows there are still sustainable options. You might be interested in my blog Detroit locavore, about starting a mostly locavore restaurant in Detroit and all the challenges and adventures along the way!

    Looking forward to reading about the rest of your journey!

    Deveri

Leave a Reply

