Define: authenticness

I make up my own words. I’m funny, inappropriate, kind, intelligent, driven and nothing if not genuine.

These traits define my authenticity.

crushitI am deep into Gary Vaynerchuk’s book “Crush it!” I’ve had the book for about a year, but have never gotten around to reading it. I think I was waiting until I could really devour and understand the principles. It may be what I’m going through right now (read:  starting my own consulting business), but I think it has more to do with my “life stage.”

I hate to get all hooey on you, but I think it’s true. A year ago, I wouldn’t have had the guts to do what I’m doing today. I wouldn’t have had the drive or the desire to do something outside of my comfort zone.

Today, I’m ready to make a change. I’m ready to live and breathe my passion and “Crush it!” is helping me do so. One of the major takeaways from the books is that no matter what, you need to be authentic and true to yourself. I’ve gotten so caught up in doing what’s right, politically correct and what’s expected that I forget to infuse my writing, my brand and my life with my charm and wit.

So, I’m making this promise to you – no matter what I end up doing “for a living” and no matter what I post here, I will be genuine and authentic.

Here are a couple of my favorite passages from “Crush it!” so far:

“Did you jump up every morning eager to go to that job you lost? If not, why are you looking for another one just like it? You have an unbelievable opportunity. Use this extra time you have to reinvent yourself or follow a totally different path from the one you were on before.”

“Do what makes you happy. Keep it simple. Do the research. Work hard. Look ahead.”

“There no longer has to be a difference between who you are and what you do.”

“Authenticity is key.”

“Honesty has got to be at your core.”

“Opportunity lies in transparency.”

“Your brand will be unique and interesting because you are unique and interesting.”

One thought on “Define: authenticness

Leave a Reply

