Video

Show me how big your brave is!

Above is the latest music video by Sara Bareilles who is, by far, my favorite musician. According to Sara, the song was inspired by a friend of hers who was having difficulty coming out as a gay adult and Sara wanted to inspire her to be the brave, amazing person that she was.

The first thing I thought when I heard this song was that there are several of my friends who are struggling with self-confidence or finding themselves that I would love to share this song with. Then I got to thinking, why is it that we always want the best for those around us, but we never demand the same of ourselves?

I’m a 28-year-old female who is struggling with a lot of the same confidence, self-awareness, relationship and body image issues as the next young woman. Why don’t I ask myself to be the brave, assertive, confident woman that I know is deep down inside of me? Are we too afraid to practice what we preach?

A perfect example: For years, I’ve operated with two personalities – my personal self and my professional self. I have 2 blogs, 2 Facebook accounts, 2 different personalities.

After pondering this for several weeks, I am challenging myself to be the same breed of brave that I wish for all of my loved ones. I’m going to be me no matter what the situation calls for. That doesn’t mean I’ll be unprofessional in certain situations or stuffy in social encounters, it just means that I will be me.

I’m funny, confident, smart and witty. There’s no reason that the people in my life should be denied that just because I feel like I have to fit into a mold.

I’m always talking about authenticity and living a genuine life – and now it’s time to live it.

Also starting now, I will not have two websites. This will be both my personal and professional site. I haven’t decided how much I’m willing to share with the entire universe without the protection of a pseudonym, but I’m pushing myself to be more open and genuine with myself and my readers.

What do you guys think? Do you live an authentic, brave life?

Leave a Reply

