I’m. Officially. 30.

My 30th birthday has come and gone without any sort of major breakdowns or newfound grey hairs. I had a wonderful party at a local park with all of my friends, some family and an EPIC bouncy house! I couldn’t have asked for a better way to spend the last night of my 20s – in bed by 10 pm!

One thing that has been on my mind for several months is my 30 by 30 list. I created this list many years ago – I think I was 26/27 at the time – with the hopes of accomplishing a lot of the things and experiences that I found exciting at the time. However, as time went on a lot of those goals changed. I realized how important family is, how much I value my sleep, and how much I love day trips with my puppy. The items like skydiving, surfing and partying at Mardi Gras, while they would still be fun (and I still want to do at some point), are no longer a priority.

A friend and I were talking today about how we were both fast asleep by 8:30 pm last night. It’s slightly embarrassing, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. It allowed me to get up earlier this morning, take a walk with Tucker, make a healthy breakfast and gear up for my busy, adult day!

I do, however, find it hilarious to point out the differences in how we spend our time in our 30s vs how we chose to live our lives in our 20s. And I recently found a Twitter account that loves this as much as I do: @20vs30. Below are some of the gems from their feed.

 

Leave a Reply

